Course FAQs:


What do I need to take a class?
You need to bring your ID (driver’s license and/or FOID card), the appropriate course payment, and the attitude to learn about firearms. You do NOT have to have a FOID card to take the class. If you have your own “eyes and ears” (eye and hearing protection), please bring them. AHF will provide protection if you don’t have your own. In addition, the second 8 hours of the training will include practice drawing from a concealed posture, so a shirt or coat that will conceal a hip holstered weapon and sturdy pants that can support a hip mounted paddle holster is necessary (we suggest jeans with a sturdy belt).

ALL qualifying shoots will take place outside, “rain or shine”, so ALWAYS dress accordingly.

I’ve already taken an 8 hour course (NRA Basic Pistol, etc.), do I have to take all 16 hours to apply for my license?
No, Illinois law provides for certain training that will alleviate part or all of the first 8 hours of required training. Contact us about the trainings that comply with this exemption and AHF can structure the amount of training that you need.

Do I need my own gun?
Not necessarily. If you already own the firearm you plan to carry concealed, AHF suggests that you perform your qualification shoot with that firearm, as this will help you familiarize yourself with your chosen firearm. However, if you don’t currently possess a handgun, AHF will provide a Ruger SR-22 and the necessary ammunition for your qualification shoot. If you are shooting your own firearm, please make sure that you have at least 50 to 100 rounds of ammunition for that caliber firearm. AHF will NOT provide ammunition for personal firearms.

What if I don’t have a FOID card?
See AHF. We will walk you through the FOID card process in Illinois. This process is now completely online. In addition, make sure your spouse has a FOID card as well…if something happens to you, your spouse will be illegally possessing weapons if they don’t have a valid FOID card.

Do I have to know a lot about guns to attend?
Absolutely not! While some knowledge of firearms usually aids in the learning process, AHF will train even novices to safely operate a firearm. AHF will teach to the capabilities of the class and students, with special attention to those that need additional assistance. If you are too nervous to take a course with others, ask us about our private lessons courses.

What if I don’t want to attend with a bunch of “guys”?
Contact us, get a group of girls together and have a “girls CCL gathering”…request to split it up over multiple weekends so as not to take too much time from your busy schedules. Get your training without those “know it all” guys around.

What time do the courses run?
Actually, they can run whenever you want them to. Eight hour courses will normally start at 8:00 a.m., there will be a 1 hour lunch period (from about 12-1 p.m.) and the course will end about 5 p.m. AHF can work around your schedule to provide the necessary training. Failure to attend all required hours could result in your failure of the course (without refund). Carrying a concealed firearm is very serious, and AHF takes the training requirements just as serious. We want you to be prepared to carry a concealed firearm.

Ask us to schedule around your schedule…not ours!

How “structured” are the courses?
The courses will start and end on the established times. There is a lot of information to cover, so be prepared to learn. These course requirements/times are due to the Illinois statutory mandates related to concealed carry training and NRA training requirements. AHF will not jeopardize our training certifications by providing limited or less than complete training under the law.

Still have questions? Contact us at:
(217) 341-2223 (leave a message)
info@antrimhillfirearms.com